General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I don't know what to do...

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2013, 09:05 AM
Unhappy I don't know what to do...

Seems like my car keeps getting worse and worse...I think I really just need a new car but I was trying to hold out till I graduated this May.

My CEL is on so I went and got it read because my car isn't shifting gears. These are the codes and the explanations I was given...

P0740:
TCC does not engage (probable cause)
Open or short circuit condition
Poor electrical connection
Failed TCC system

P0730:
Faulty shift control system (probable cause)
Low transmission fluid level
Poor electrical connection
Failed transmission shift control system

P0420:
Catalyst system efficiency below threshold bank 1 (probable cause)
A/F ratio concern
Air leak near HO2S
Ignition System Concern
Faulty catalytic converter

All I do know is I was getting P0420 code before I cleaned out the manifold. I recently changed the transmission oil. I know that it calls for changing it 3x, but I could only do it once, but there's adequate amount of oil in there. If I remember correctly I having another problem before and it was fixed by me changing the radiator cap. Are the radiator caps from AutoZone good to buy or should I invest in a different one?

Old 01-12-2013, 09:48 AM

If its not shifting gears it could be ECU related or just mechanical- bad transmission. Check your electrical connections to your ECU. Have you done anything to the car that may have caused issues?
Based on the first two codes it could just be a bad transmission really, if so you can do some tests for that. Your torque converter could be bad and its messing up the shifting as well. But I don't know a lot about automatic transmissions.

You can also try looking up the VIN for any recalls.