General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Loud Knocking Noise Honda Accord 96

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2011, 11:13 PM
Exclamation Loud Knocking Noise Honda Accord 96

96 accord wagon, 2.2 non vtec. Ok I am really needing some help. I am a Nana (so please play nice) and don't know squat about cars, but found you guys and I've been telling my guys (my son and dad) that are working on my poor car about you and how you might be able to help us figure this problem out with my car that has us stumped! Here goes:
Car started out making a knocking noise in the motor, son looked at spark plug tubes and they were full of oil so he said we needed to change the valve cover gasket & rings. We were going to bring it back to him the next day to get that done (he is a mechanic by trade) and BAM! the timing belt broke. Soooo…here is what we have done, Replaced the valve cover gasket & O rings ( no more leaking oil into the spark plug tubes), changed the timing belt, spark plugs, water pump and ALL valves because 14 out of 16 were bent.
Went to test drive it today, sounded fine and ran fine for about 10 minutes then started knocking really loudly. I could tell when driving it that it was not getting gas good and when it was idling the rpm gauge was moving up and down with nobody pressing the gas. Smelled rubber burning but the only smoke was coming from underneath in the middle of the car between front and back seats around a exhaust pipe connection. It reminds me of a old bicycle, playing card and clothes pin trick with the noise but louder. ;o). I did video the motor running but not sure I know how to upload it. If you want me to email it to you so you can listen I would be thrilled to have any help I can get. I have driven his car for 182K, raised three kids and two grandkids in it and I am not wanting to let her go.Thanks in advance for any help!