General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

No cooling fans. No a/c. Electrical?

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2011, 10:07 AM
Newest Of Newbies
Default No cooling fans. No a/c. Electrical?

Hey guys. So my 98 accord ex 4cyl hasn't had a/c since I baught it. Now that summer is here is like to address this issue without leaving it at the mechanics for a .minimum of 5 hrs at 60/hr for "electrical diagnoses". When I bought it, there was no belt on the compressor, so I assumed they just had the belt off for added power, and the person who sold me it was unsure of the a/cs functionality or issues. So I put a belt on.. no a/c. Got a pricey recharge, no a/c. On top of that, both of my cooling fans are non functional. All fuses have been checked. RepLAced all relays, including ac clutch relay, compressor fan relay, and cooling fan relays with brand new ones. No ac. No fans. I'm not an electrician, and I see a few people have issues similar to this, but all stories were a little different, with not so definitive answers. Also, my temp gauge on the dash shoots right all the way up after the cars been on (or just the battery) for about 30 secs. Maybe somebody can point me in the right direction or even better has had the same issue and knows how to resolve! Thanks in advance..

Old 06-23-2011, 10:32 AM
Newest Of Newbies

Edit: also, ac tested receiving no power at all. Pressure is good on the compressor too, also checked for leaks seems good to go. Just no power. The one wire going to the compressor was all split and frayed, so I trimmed each end and now I have it connected with a snapping quick-splice. I would like to replace this wire entirely, but I can't seem to find the part anywhere... No to mention that the wires go to inside the compressor.. grr I wish I knew more about cars! Lol any help or advice is appreciated. Thanks guys

Old 06-24-2011, 12:46 PM
Newest Of Newbies

Bump for some help :/