General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Oil Leak

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2009, 01:07 PM
disramirez
Unregistered
Default Oil Leak

About a year ago, I started to notice a burned oil smell, it is really only noticeable when I stop the car, or if I have the "vent" on the the air conditioner on. Then when I changed my oil on the Accord, by the way it is a '92, I saw where the exhaust pipe just under where the Oil Filter is was caked with oil. I talked to a mechanic friend, who told me that there is a O-Ring on the distributor, and if that goes bad, that the oil travels to the back of the motor and drops on the exhaust pipe. Is that true? Also, how hard would that be to fix. I am a average mechanic, I mean, I put plugs and wires on the car and I obviously change the oil. That is the extent of my mechanical ability.

Old 09-23-2009, 02:26 PM
Super Moderator

If the o-ring was leaking on the distributor, you should see oil underneath it on the cylinder head/engine block.

If the oil filter is caked with oil, remove the oil filter. Make sure that the old oil filter gasket didn't stick on there. Clean everything up.

Another possibility is that the oil pressure sending unit is leaking. That is somewhat common problem. It is bolted above the oil filter. It has one wire going to it with a rubber boot. If you pull the boot and find oil in it, replace the sending unit. You need to lightly coat the threads of the new sending unit with HondaBond (RTV grey).

Old 09-24-2009, 02:34 PM
disramirez
Unregistered