General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Should I breakup or makeup ?

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2012, 04:55 PM
Default Should I breakup or makeup ?

Ok...I need advice.
Should I keep my 1997 Honda Accord with 220K ..and pay 2400 for a new transmission?
I just spend $700 on repairs..battery...brake lines...light bulb..oil change...ignition...inspection...
Over the last 7 years I have replaced plugs/wires/hoses/radiator/fan/catalytic converter,water pump, thermostat,oil pan, (also struts/bearings or axles one of these I can't remember)...and basic brakes/pads but most of this about 6 or 7 years ago... about half the mileage ago.
I need a new trans and suspect I will really also eventually or sooner or later need a new cat because it was giving those codes before but wrer cleared and now I am getting trans codes...
I am not a mechanic and love my Honda but am using it as a second around the town car now...Is it worth it financially to put a new trans/ need axles too I was told?
All things considered I worry that once I do this something else will go....( all of the above listed repairs were done half the mileage ago)...
Also ...I asked the mechanic if he would buy it from me and he said he would give me $600 for it if I did not want to put the trans in....Is that a fair price the car is clean?

Old 10-03-2012, 04:58 PM
Default Should I breakup or makeup ?

To clarify: 1997 Honda Accord SE 4 cylinder 220K miles

Ok...I need advice.
Should I keep my 1997 Honda Accord with 220K ..and pay 2400 for a new transmission?
I just spend $700 on repairs..battery...brake lines...light bulb..oil change...ignition...inspection...
Over the last 7 years I have replaced plugs/wires/hoses/radiator/fan/catalytic converter,water pump, thermostat,oil pan, (also struts/bearings or axles one of these I can't remember)...and basic brakes/pads but most of this about 6 or 7 years ago... about half the mileage ago.