General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

when should i change the ATF fluid

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2008, 03:03 AM
dejavustuff
Unregistered
Default when should i change the ATF fluid

hello, im new here and also a new owner of 2002 accord (3 weeks), i wanted to know when i need to change my transmission fluid, my car has 68,000 miles on it, i dont have contact info of the previous owner-- so dont know if it was ever changed, how am i supposed to know if it even needs a transmission flush, i dont want to listen to the dealership as they are always trying to rip u off.
And if i need to change my transmission fluid---- WHERE SHOULD I DO IT AND WHAT INOFORMATION DO I NEED TO ASK THE PERSON AS TO WHAT HE WILL BE USING TO CLEAN THE OLD FLUID OUT (i heard quiet a few stories of transmission going bad after changing oil).
Pls help ---- i am pretty new to these things. Also it will be kind enough if someone can tell me what all i need to change or replace after buying a used car. I have already changed the oil and oil filter and air filter for the engine.
I am sorry if this is the wrong place to post these questions.

Old 01-12-2008, 04:59 AM
Default RE: when should i change the ATF fluid

Hey - if you feel like you think you need to do it, do it - cant hurt it

Old 01-12-2008, 06:19 AM
Been Around A Long Time Member

you dont want to flush the auto tranny. just replace the fluid. you'll need to drain, refill, and drive 3x to cycle most of the old fluid out.

Old 01-13-2008, 09:50 PM
Super Moderator

This New Member board is more of a Welcome area, so your post might just get moved over to the tech area. Welcome aboard.