Off Topic A place for you car junkies to boldly post off topic.

Technical skills/Competency Workplace Rant

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2013, 09:28 AM
Almost A Senior Member
Default Technical skills/Competency Workplace Rant

This forum and youtube has given me some confidence to do quite a bit of regular maintenance on my vehicles. I am a Tool Designer by trade so I have some technical background. I consider myself a novice at car repairs, not a hack.

BUT, I have found that there are people that I work with who are:
1. unmotivated to do a good job,
2. unable to search out answers to their own questions.
3. unable to read manuals and instructions, then put information to use.
4. high on Pot or Alcohol during working hours
5. disinterested in doing the best job for the customer that they are capable of.
6. unwilling to put in an extra 1/2 hr to make sure the customer gets what they expect, when they expect to get it.

This leads me to believe that the unemployment rate of 7.5% is BS, because 7% of people working seem like they would rather be unemployed.

Anyone else run into this? How much of a problem is this in your workplace?

Old 06-11-2013, 09:40 AM
Super Moderator

Not much of a problem in the places where I work, even the functioning alcholics (or other substances) seem to do a pretty good job when they're on the clock. That said, there are a very few individuals that, drunk, stoned, or sober, are pretty much useless; the good news here is that this group doesn't even make up a tenth of one percent of the workforce in my client base.

I suppose some environments are more prone to sloth than others.

Old 06-11-2013, 10:14 AM
Almost A Senior Member

To go along with my theme, if I take the car to a dealer or franchise for an oil change/tire rotation, shouldn't I expect: "the correct weight oil"; "the filter put on properly" "the lugs torqued to the correct spec".