Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

2011 Accord Coupe needs help

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2012, 07:24 AM
Default 2011 Accord Coupe needs help

Trying to upgrade the stock sound system but so far it is a big fail. 2011 Accord Coupe (EX-L), Dual Climate Control, 7 speaker setup. Wanted to keep the stock HU and dash looking original, steering wheel controls, bluetooth, etc.

Purchased Focal PS165 for front and Focal IC165 for rear speakers. JL 8W3 v3-4 sub powered by a JL XD 700/5 amp.
Focal information on setup of the crossovers appears to be marginal at best and I am a total newbie on setup of systems like this. A friend installed the system and set the tweeter crossovers to mid position on both switch settings. The sound is very bad; little from the tweeters, all sound is from the main speakers. I did at least get rid of the ANC by disconnecting the microphones, but other than that, it is pretty bad sounding.
I know it is fixable but not sure where to start. I need help badly.

Last edited by fwood; 08-25-2012 at 07:32 AM.
Old 08-25-2012, 09:07 PM

Using the stock head unit is always gonna be a problem cause for one, it EQ's the signal coming from it. To make these OEM systems sound a lot better than their cheap paper cone speakers normally would, they crank up the bass and highs on their signal to make the sound a little beefier so you think you got a good deal with their "premium" sound system.