Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

quick question guys.. 2009 accord new sub setup question

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2010, 08:05 PM
Default quick question guys.. 2009 accord new sub setup question

So im totally new to the whole car audio thing and i currently own a 2009 accord lx sedan. i wanted more low end so i went and got the JL 12 W1 powerwedge that came already inside the ported box along with the JL J2 250.1 amp. The question i have is since i had the guys in the shop install it for me i dont know if the amp automatically has those things (i dont even know what its called) that takes all the low end and gives it to the sub while giving some relief to the stock speakers so they dont stress so much with the bass but on my radio i have two settings.. Bass and Treble.. i keep the treble at +5 but now do i keep the Bass at 0 or all the way to -5? does it matter? i do hear the stock speakers try and output bass when i turn the bass **** up but i thought the sub now takes care of that?? hopefully one of you understands what im trying to say haha thanks in advance!! oh and as far as i know they installed also a converter for the back of the stock HU but no cleansweep or anything like that

Old 08-27-2010, 10:45 PM
Super Moderator

i understand what you are saying.

no, the new powerwedge system does not take bass out of your stock speakers. you'd need to install passive crossovers on the speakers to do that. you can do that fairly easily and cheaply if you wish.

keep the bass at 0 or -2. if you want more bass, you can ask the shop to tweak the amp levels, or i can help you with that.

careful with the amp gain, too much and you'll damage the sub. if the amp has a bass boost EQ on it, you can boost it at the sub amp, and cut the bass at the head unit, to kind of achieve what you want.

Old 08-27-2010, 10:50 PM
Super Moderator