Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Will 17ft be long enough?

  #1  
Old 02-28-2014, 09:49 PM
Newest Of Newbies
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Western Washington
Posts: 16
Default Will 17ft be long enough?

I recently purchased an amp and 2 subs plus the enclosure for my 1994 Honda Accord LX, and wanted to know if 17ft of 8 guage wire will be long enough to install the cable. I just don't have a drill available for me to use, to drill a hole and grommet it on the passenger side. I just would like to know if 17ft is enough power cable for me to run accros the fire wall, through the grommet behind the gas pedal, and all the way to the trunk (where my amp will be). Has anyone had experience with this?
 
  #2  
Old 02-28-2014, 10:24 PM
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8
Default

What watt amp and what size subs? Personally 8 gauge sounds too small for two subs. I would at least go with 4 gauge. If you want go to walmart and buy the wiring kit they sell that has the capacitor in it and toss the cap as it doesnt make a difference. Use the wiring to run to your amp. Im about to redo mine on my tercel with 0 gauge wire.
 
  #3  
Old 02-28-2014, 10:30 PM
Newest Of Newbies
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Western Washington
Posts: 16
Default

Originally Posted by Yota Tuner View Post
What watt amp and what size subs? Personally 8 gauge sounds too small for two subs. I would at least go with 4 gauge. If you want go to walmart and buy the wiring kit they sell that has the capacitor in it and toss the cap as it doesnt make a difference. Use the wiring to run to your amp. Im about to redo mine on my tercel with 0 gauge wire.
I actually already have the kit. I purchased all of it with the help of a crutchfield advisor altogether. Lol, sorry forgot to say that.
EDIT: Crutchfield recommended 8 gauge http://www.crutchfield.com/App/Mobil...212D2&tp=61893
I know the amp is pretty low with the rms, but I was looking for a bass package due to lack of money. Lol
 

Last edited by ALDJ1; 02-28-2014 at 10:37 PM.
  #4  
Old 02-28-2014, 10:40 PM
Senior Member Stereo Guru..Almost A Mod :)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: louisiana
Posts: 862
Default

find you some rope or string, and run it the same path to where your amp should be and measure it. I would think it was long enough, but cant say for certain, I dont know the location of your amp in your trunk.
 
  #5  
Old 02-28-2014, 10:51 PM
Newest Of Newbies
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Western Washington
Posts: 16
Default

Originally Posted by neophyte View Post
find you some rope or string, and run it the same path to where your amp should be and measure it. I would think it was long enough, but cant say for certain, I dont know the location of your amp in your trunk.
Genious! Lol, thank you for the idea. I will have to do it some time this week. I will update it once done.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
YeuEmMaiMai
Off Topic
6
09-05-2006 09:37 PM
Markus26
Audio/Visual Electronics
7
08-20-2006 05:05 PM
flomasta
Engine & Internal
8
05-02-2006 11:08 PM
Evlampius
General Tech Help
14
12-07-2005 02:07 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Will 17ft be long enough?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.