General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1998 Accord Electrical/Ignition problem

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2015, 10:11 AM
Default 1998 Accord Electrical/Ignition problem

Hello fellow Accord owners!

I'm new to the Accord forums, but have been posting on Regalgs and ClubGP for many years (I know ew, a GM guy).

I am relatively well versed in mechanical work, and less talented with under-dash clusterF***s. Not only am I lacking the necessary diagnostic tools, but I am working with basic hand tools and 10 years of basic knowledge.

I am currently repairing my daily driver, a 260k 1998 EX coupe with a 4cyl AT that has had a "Ultra" brand- remote start/alarm installed. (Bought the car this way)

The issue I am facing is a repetitive stalling whilst driving or a no start while parked. ( Especially when attempting to start shortly thereafter)... I noticed it was typically after engine had reached normal operating temp. Intially I thought it was the Distributor so I have installed a low mileage OEM one recently. Then I remembered the recall on these cars for the ignition switch (of which i'm not sure that my car recieved). The reason I assumed it was IG-Swtch related was when I poked at the black cover for the IG-Swtch my dash lights would dim from time to time. The only time I could get my car to turn over was when the SES light would eventually pop on and I could see the GREEN Key symbol appear simultaneously. Sometimes I would key on and neither of these lights would appear till I had the key in the igniton for several minutes or if I removed the key and switched it on and off until I heard a Solenoid click and occasionally when I wiggled the key. Figured it had to be a bad connection/solder somewhere near column/dash. This is where it gets ugly.

(NOTE: car has- new alt, new battery, starter, distributor, wires, plugs, AEM filter, Radiator/cap)