General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2000 Honda Accord EX F23A1 P1259 VTEC Issues

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2013, 10:43 AM
Default 2000 Honda Accord EX F23A1 P1259 VTEC Issues

New member here. First let me say thank you as I have spent the last month "lurking" and taking advantage of the useful information contained within these walls. I am not a mechanic by trade so hopefully this description is thorough enough to explain my issue at this point.

Heres the technical info:

2000 Honda Accord EX AT 2.3 L4 VTEC SOHC (F23A1) Sedan

P1259 - VTEC Malfunction
P0135 - Oxygen O2 Sensor Heater Circuit Malfunction (Bank 1, Sensor 1)

I should have the new O2 sensor by lunch today so hopefully that will clear that code

__________________________________________________ _

My wife's original engine had 189,700mi when we completely lost compression in the #4 cylinder. I ordered another A1 and performed the swap about a week ago. All in all it was pretty straightforward and went in with little headache. At first I had some surging issues which were a combination of swapped cables at the intake and a filthy IACV. Once that was corrected I noticed that the car would idle smooth as glass but when I attempted to drive the vehicle it would hit a "rev limiter" around 4,000RPMS. More searching showed this was a result of the ECU reading a P1259 and putting the car in "limp mode" which I can only assume will protect the car on its ride back to the dealership.

I began searching forums and came across this site. While searching "VTEC or 1259" I have tried a few different fixes only to still have the issue.

*Changed the oil and ensured it is full
*Taken the VTEC spool assembly apart and cleaned the screen/filter
*Tested continuity between the lock-up solenoid base and body-ground / negative terminal (Haynes Manual)