General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

97 Accord both cooling fan motors burnt out?

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2013, 12:02 AM
Default 97 Accord both cooling fan motors burnt out?

Hey everyone, first official post, but I have been gleaning tons of information from this site for the past several years. My wife's 97 accord, 2.2 vtec, manual trans has 355,000+ miles on it and is worn, but still (fairly) trusty thanks to all of you.

A few days ago it started to overheat on her but she caught it in time and shut if off. As I was diagnosing it, I first of all found it was low on coolant (my bad. radiator cap was very old and apparently had been letting coolant out for a while) but during the diagnosis I find out that both cooling fans aren't working. I performed the diagnostic steps found here Overheating Troubleshoot for Honda's Cooling System
and everything is electrically good up to the fan itself. Both fans are getting 12V at their connector plugs when they are supposed to (jumper plug at Thermoswitch A at thermostat housing, get 12v at radiator fan; turn on AC get 12V at both radiator and condenser fans) but neither fan actually comes on, ever. I tried jumping juice straight from the battery to each fan and neither came on that way either. This brings me to my question, Is it possible there is something going on that could have burned out both fan motors? Or were they both just very old. I guess I have been unaware of the non-working fans until it came up with the overheating, so it's possible they burned out at seperate times, but I was under the impression that electric motors are pretty robust.