General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

'98 4-cyl, stalls randomly.

Old 07-19-2009, 11:42 PM
Newest Of Newbies
Default '98 4-cyl, stalls randomly.

Hey fellas, i have a 98 accord lx, 4-cyl automatic with about 134K on it. It's bone stock, just a daily driver. I take good care of it, never beat on it or anything like that. Lately the car developed an issue where she just randomly stalls. There is no warning signs, no sputtering or anything like that. It can happend whenever, there are times when she runs fine for a few weeks or nights like tonight when she died on me 4 times in a matter of 10 minutes.
I'm no mechanic, but I know a lil about cars and I am completely stumped. The only pattern I noticed is that it happends at low RPMs, never when I accelerate. It typically happends when i'm going down hill and my foots off the gas or when im slowing down before a red light or something. I ran the codes on it and nothing popped out besides a busted catalytic converted which i replaced and she still stalls.
Any ideas?

Old 07-20-2009, 08:19 AM
Super Moderator

Can you make it happen by wiggling the key? It's not very rare for the electrical part of the ignition switch to get flaky.

There's a recall about that. Call any dealer with your VIN so they can look up whether it applies to your car & whether it's already been done. You might get it fixed for free...

Old 07-20-2009, 08:45 AM

Try the key wiggle test Jim suggested and get back to us. Sounds like the classic ignition switch failure to me.

Old 07-21-2009, 01:34 PM
Newest Of Newbies

i did the key jiggle thing and nothing happend. I tried for a good 10 mintues in every possible direction lol and she didn't stall. But as soon as i stated driving she stalled on me during a pretty sharp turn, almost crapped my pants. Any other suggestions?

Old 07-21-2009, 02:02 PM

Do you have anything out of the ordinary on your keychain?