General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

99 Honda Accord Stalling

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2014, 05:47 PM
Exclamation 99 Honda Accord Stalling

I am new and don't really know a whole lot about cars, although I can change a mean tire and know how to check the oil. I have someone to do the actual dirty work once I've diagnosed the problem, but I don't exactly know where to start.

This morning when I started the car (automatic 99 Accord 4cyl 2.3L 150k+), it stalled out almost immediately. I do sometimes have this problem, though I think it's because I'm new to driving old cars and expect them to start as fast as a new one and don't actually START the car before I let off the key. At least that's what I've been told. This morning was a little different because I was sure the car was actually started before it died. I disregarded the apparent stall and continued on my way to work, only to have it stall a few times at red lights along the way. Only about a 10 minute drive so it wasn't at temp just yet when I parked it. Leaving work this afternoon, car started fine. Took me about 5 minutes to hit a red light, which is where it stalled again. I played with the gas pedal a little and realized if I kept it pressed a little, it would stay running. I got home without another stall (3 more red lights, but the pedal thing worked) and did a few tests. Again, not very familiar with cars, so I'm sure there was more I could have checked out. This is what I found.

The car will stall if I:
Decelerate quickly and come to a near stop, shift to or from drive or neutral while idling, rev to 4k and let off the gas (stalls at about 2k)

It idles very rough if I drive under 5mph in both reverse and drive. The few times I put it in park that it didn't stall, it was idling extremely rough.