General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Clutch pedal snaps to floor when I try to pull it back up during bleeding

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2014, 09:56 PM
Question Clutch pedal snaps to floor when I try to pull it back up during bleeding

Hi everyone! First of all, I am a brand new member and apologize if I am posting in the wrong section at all, I've been jumping around the threads and I think I'm in the right place based on the rules I've read.

On my 94 accord ex coupe MT, I just replaced the clutch master and slave cylinders and prepared to refill/bleed the system. I hooked the clutch pedal back up, and is sucked to the floor. Even when I pull it up it immediately snaps (not falls, SNAPS) back to the floor as soon as I let go of it. I've watched a lot/read a lot of how-to's of bleeding the clutch system, as I am a novice and never attempted this before, but it seems like every case I come across the pedal remains down when you push it down and up when you pull it up. My question is, what causes the pedal to snap down when I let go after pulling it up? Any advice is helpful, thanks!

Old 01-01-2014, 11:31 PM
Super Moderator

When you pull the pedal up with the system sealed and not fluid, you probably create a vacuum that pulls the pedal back down.

Open up the bleeding bolt,pull up the pedal, then see if it snaps back down.

Old 01-02-2014, 11:58 AM

Originally Posted by PAhonda
When you pull the pedal up with the system sealed and not fluid, you probably create a vacuum that pulls the pedal back down.

Open up the bleeding bolt,pull up the pedal, then see if it snaps back down.

Yeah I've tried this repeatedly and it still snaps back down. Not sure what's up.

Old 01-02-2014, 03:32 PM
Super Moderator

On the 94, how difficult would it be to remove the MC and bench-bleed it? That might be the ticket.

Otherwise, how are you equipped for bleeding?