General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How often should I change my...

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2012, 04:47 AM
Newest Of Newbies
Default How often should I change my...

Hi everyone. I have some questions...

2006 Accord EX-L 4 cyl

How often should I change my brake fluid, power steering fluid, anti-freeze, and air filter?

I've read that the brake and power steering fluid should be changed every 3 years (or per 45,000 miles)? And the anti-freeze should be changed every 100,000 miles.
I am still uncertain about the air filter...
Are the fuel filters and oil filters the same thing?

Please advise. I am still a beginner to cars and to this forum. lol. Thanks

Old 08-07-2012, 05:45 AM
Super Moderator : And A Texan

Every 3 yrs is a good interval on those fluids including the antifreeze. It's cheap and not worth running 100K miles (5-7 yrs) to find out if antifreeze will last that long.

Air filter should be replaced on interval specified in owner's manual. Oil filter w/ each oil change. No they are not the same.

good luck

Old 08-07-2012, 05:05 PM
Super Moderator

I don't believe your 2006 has a fuel filter that gets routinely replaced. There's a fine mesh screen at the pump inlet (inside the fuel tank). But you don't replace that unless you measure problems with fuel pressure.

Old 08-08-2012, 01:36 AM
Newest Of Newbies

I appreciate the feedback. The manual reccommends the Honda brand, but how is it different from the Castrol, Pennzoil, etc. i can get from Pep Boys/Kragens's/O REilley auto parts? Does the Honda brand contain special additives to make the car better, or is it all just NAME BRAND?
Thanks again

Old 08-08-2012, 05:10 AM
Been Around A Long Time Member

^^^ There are nothing special about oil; it's a commodity in the big picture.
That said I wouldn't switch to synthetic oil on a high mileage engine