General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Location of Fuel pump relay

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2015, 07:55 AM
Newest Of Newbies
Default Location of Fuel pump relay

hello everybody !!

I'm a newbie as i just got my first honda today. I am not much of a honda fan really until earlier when i came across an ageing 1986 accord DX (totally old school carbureted engine) sitting miserably on the side of the road. Oh man it looked terrible... Rust bucket to the max, terrible smell inside and the engine wasnt running. But something about the car led me to buying it, must be the popping headlights that i find so cool; probably the terrible shape it had that told me that i can turn it around.

Towed it back to the house, put on a new battery and put some gas into the tank but it wouldnt fire up. I reckoned the carb must be starving of fuel as it ran dry through the years. I poured some gas into the carb and it ran but only until the primed gas burned out. I did that a few times and it stalls after the gas i pour in gets consumed. It must be the fuel pump. But i need to check the relay first before concluding that i drop the tank to get to the pump.

Anybody know where to locate the relay ?? Some forums tell me its in the engine compartment but they're not specific as to which one; other forums will tell you its under the dash. it surely is a fuel issue here and nothing else. But i will appreciate any other tips to share other than my intuition of the relay/pump theory ?? I dont have tha factory service manual yet so i am in the dark right now. Where is the relay ? Any thread/forums/websites you know that i can read through about a 1986 3rd gen accord dx ? Lastly, refer me to parts (engine and body) suppliers who have recycled components of this model as well as new parts for it.

Thanks in advance. Glad to be here !!

Les

Old 03-01-2015, 09:40 AM
Super Moderator

Stop......