General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

P0175 CEL right after CV Axel Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2015, 11:22 AM
Default P0175 CEL right after CV Axel Replacement

Hi, newbie here. I just had the driver-side CV axle replaced on my 1996 Honda Accord LX Station Wagon (147,000 miles). Immediately after that the transmission starting not wanting to shift, even though prior to that it was working perfectly. By the next day, the transmission would barely shift and the CEL came on and threw a P0715 (NOT P0175) code. I checked the tranny fluid and it looked fine. Jacked the front end up and the replaced axle turned just fine, with no play at all, unlike the old one of the other side that had a bit of play in it. Took the car back and the guys claimed they checked the shaft sensor wires and said they were fine and shrugged their shoulders. They also swore they didn't add any fluid to the transmission.

Is there anything these yahoos could have done to cause this? Seems awful strange to be such a horrible coincidence.

thanks to anyone who might have any ideas.

Last edited by Asok Smith; 01-11-2015 at 10:12 AM. Reason: typo
Old 01-11-2015, 06:30 AM
Super Moderator

Hard to say if the work done is related to the two different issues.

Trans shfting - I'll assume there are no other codes, one related to the trans (D4 light on all the time). Check the fluid level, on Honda's this is done when the fluid is warm. I would then check the "throttle control cable" to be sure it is adjusted correctly.

The P0175 - this is from the engine, fuel system too rich. Start simple and be sure the regular tune up items are up to date (air filter, plugs, ect). I'm never a fan of throwing money at an issue without testing but O2 sensors do get old and lazy - so this could be the front O2 has just worn out.

Old 01-11-2015, 09:48 AM
Super Moderator