New Member Area Are you new? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

New (to me) 1989 Honda Accord SE-i

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2013, 01:15 PM
Default New (to me) 1989 Honda Accord SE-i

Hi!

I'm also from NC, and am the owner of a 1989 Honda Accord SE-i, which was given to me by the original owners. It has about 108k miles on it, and is in what I would consider excellent shape. My mechanic said it's in remarkable condition for its age.

So far, I've had to get a new radiator and muffler. I had the alternator, oil pan and valve cover gasket replaced.

There are some other issues, which I will deal with over time. I've never had a car this old before, but am grateful to have it -- and not have car payments. I have no experience with an older car though, so I'm a little nervous about how to proceed with things. I don't know what stuff can be left for later and what things would be considered urgent to look into. I'm hoping to get some good advice here. These are some things I wonder about:

1) The Bose sound system had an amp that was shot, so I took the car to Best Buy and the guy there bypassed it, put in a new head unit and wired it to the original speakers. It sounds great! But, the power antenna is broken, so I can't listen to the radio, which drives me nuts. The motor works, but the antenna itself is broken off. Is that something I can get online and maybe even replace myself?

2) The check engine light comes on. The original owner told me that the local Honda dealer couldn't even figure it out, and it's been happening for at least a year and a half with no apparent consequences. He doesn't know if they replaced the sensor. He said they told him just to drive it and ignore the light. I find it annoying, and would love to see if anyone has suggestions about what I should be asking my mechanic to look for.