General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

1993 Honda Accord Motor Mount Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2010, 06:09 PM
Default 1993 Honda Accord Motor Mount Replacement

I have just been told by mechanic that my motor mounts are bad. I have a 1993 honda accord ex. I called honda to get a quote and was blown away by the cost. The car itself is in pretty decent shape and its just not worth going with honda parts. I have always gone with honda parts in the past but this time its not possible. The value of the car is not worth it. Has anybody installed aftermarket mounts in their accord? If so what do you recommend I use? I'm a harley davidson mechanic by trade and have done pontiac and olds motor mounts and boy what a price difference. I haven't seen any reviews on the net about aftermarket motor mounts. I would hate to get rid of her because she's good on gas. Any suggestions or help would be appreciated.
Thanks
Chris

Old 02-27-2010, 03:12 PM
Super Moderator

Car details??

Manual trans - go for it.

Auto trans Accord has a vacuum-operated mount in the rear (down low against firewall). Parts are pricey, and it's a bit of a pain to get at. (Well, the manual-trans mount is just as hard to reach, but isn't so pricey.) Aftermarket mount in the rear will give you all kinds of nasty vibrations, but if you like Harleys...

Grab the valve cover & shake - look for which ones are coming apart & look to see if you wanna tackle replacing them yourself. What symptoms is the car displaying? Maybe not all are bad?

Old 02-27-2010, 06:44 PM