General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Honda Newb could use some help with clutch

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2011, 12:13 PM
Default Honda Newb could use some help with clutch

Hi all,
As the title reads, I'm a Honda Newb. I Just bought a 91 Accord DX 4dr from a guy in my neighborhood. I got this car for my wife who needed a commuter. The car has 245K and had a fresh longblock installed at 205K so it runs really well. Unfortunately after driving for a week the clutch is out(i think) I'm a auto tech student at the Lonestar and will be putting it on the lift on Tuesday. I really need some advise/troubleshooting tips for diagnosing the clutch/TOB/slave issues.
1. Its squeeling like a stuck pig when I depress the clutch.
2. The shifter is very notchy in and out of gears
3. sometimes fights gear entry altogether.
4. toasty clutch smell

I talked to my little bro (mech school grad who works in a collision shop) and he said the TOB is shot(squeeling) and the slave is bad(notchy shifter) and the slave may be leaking(clutch shot due to contamination). I am very capable of almost any auto work but any tips or pointers would be awesome. I will most likely be doing this with little help and really dont want to remove the entire trans or go through a full undercarriage disassembly in order to do a clutch kit job. Thanks everyone and i look forward to years of corrispondance with you all. I have big hopes for this little car and cant wait to add my own personal touches to it to make it ours

Old 09-16-2011, 02:53 PM
Super Moderator

First, I'll move this over to General Tech where it belongs. WELCOME newbie!

Can't change the throw-out bearing without removing the trans.... sorry.