General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Oil and Coolant leak - where to start?

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2014, 05:33 PM
Newest Of Newbies
Default Oil and Coolant leak - where to start?

I'm really really new at all this car stuff, but I'm trying really hard to learn. Last year I learned how to troubleshoot electrical issues, solder lots of wires, and you guys even walked me through replacing my radiator fan, which was by far the most automotive thing I've ever done - but I actually did it, and it was the best feeling! So I know that I'm about to sound really dumb, but I really am learning, and it's so exciting to be able to fix some of my own car problems.

So my car has been leaking oil and coolant. The last few oil changes, they told me that they filled up my coolant, and that I had a coolant leak. I tucked that information away with the other information that I didn't have the money to deal with. A few weeks ago, my oil light came on. I had just had an oil change a few weeks ago, but someone told me that old cars burn oil, so I put a couple quarts of oil in and it went away. The oil light hasn't come back on, but it looks like my oil level is pretty low now, so I'll put in more. I've noticed my radiator fan staying on longer than normal when I turn off the car, and today, the temperature gauge got a lot higher than I've seen it. So I'm guessing that it's time to try to figure out how all these fluids work, at the very least to have a better working knowledge of what's going on, so if it's something that I need a garage to fix, I won't get completely screwed over.

So here are the facts:
- 1995 Honda Accord EX, 197k miles, 5 speed manual transmission
- Oil is low, put 2 qts in after the oil light came on a few weeks ago.
- Last oil change was about a month and a half ago.