General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Possible Lemon?

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2012, 10:35 AM
Default Possible Lemon?

Hi! I am new to the HAF but not new to Honda or Accord.. I am on my third Honda Accord and also have a Honda Civic.. In July, my husband and I bought a 2012 Honda Accord Special Edition..with 4 miles on it.. About 3 weeks ago, at 5800 miles, the car died, while driving on the highway, with no warning.. My husband got it to start back up but it was running VERY ROUGH.. While driving, the car would stall if it needed extra gas to make it up a hill.. And the engine sounded like a sewing machine.. All this time- the check engine light was NOT on.. It came on as my husband made it into the driveway of our house.. We called Honda Roadside Assistance the next day as well as the dealership we bought it from.. They both deferred us to a closer dealership and the car was taken there, where they replaced 2 catalytic converters.. We got the car back on September 27th.. It seemed to be driving fine.. Then on October 9, less than 2 weeks after having it fixed, it died AGAIN on a local highway.. It was fine an all of a sudden, it started shaking and then stopped.. It wouldnt start up either.. We called HRA again and it was towed to the Honda dealership AGAIN.. This time, they had it 2 days..