General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Trouble with brakes not releasing...long

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2007, 09:54 AM
cklanke
Unregistered
Default Trouble with brakes not releasing...long

Hi all,

Newbie here in need of experienced Honda brains. I have a 1996 Accord EX with ABS. Yesterday my car started shaking pretty badly on the highway after a good deal of on-the-gas/on-the-brakes driving. When I pulled over I noticed that my brakes were still engaged (no, parking brake was not on) and were hot to the point of smoking (fronts were smoking, but they all might have been engaged). No matter what I tried I could not get them to release. I visited my abandoned car this morning and the problem is no longer present. The shaking (caused by slightly warped rotors having brakes the brakes not fully release them???) had happened intermittantly in similar driving situations only to resolve.So my questions are:

Is this a brake heat related issue (resolves when cooled down)?

Any ABS involvement (pulsing being from that instead)?

Will it be safe to drive this home under non-rush hour (no heavy braking)

What part is failing?

Thanks for any and all advice!!!

Chuck

Old 05-25-2007, 10:24 AM
Super Moderator
Default RE: Trouble with brakes not releasing...long

Sure seems like it's heat-related, since they were smoking.

Start out, just enough to move the car, then shift to neutral (or disengage the clutch) & coast a couple feet. You should be able to feel whether the brakes are dragging any more. If they're OK, then you should be OK to drive home if you take it easy & don't abuse the brakes...for now.

Are you gonna look at them yourself or take to a shop? What kind of DIYexperience do you have? Any brake work done lately? Stock brakes?